Week 23: Jiu Jitsu is for everyone.

Mental realisation:

I am still reading “The ego is the enemy”-Ryan Holiday, I thought I would lay down some quotes from that book. The entire book so far has presented me with reflective questions, the book is very much a book that makes you look at yourself and it really brings up some great questions. I am more than half way through the book and on to the chapter “Always a student”, this chapter talks about always being a student in order to stay humble and to always be progressing, throughout the chapter there’s encouragement to go try something new, be the novice in the room, read books that you know absolutely nothing about and never think you know anything.

Socrates quotes “The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.” “There is only one good, knowledge, and one evil, ignorance.”

This sounds almost contradicting to what you will hear when you ask about being the best at something. There are a couple of quotes that come to mind:- “Jack of all trades, master of none” or “Fear the man who has practised the same kick 1000 times, not the man who has learnt 1000 kicks” – or something like that, I am probably making hash of them quotes.

The example the book uses is Genghis Khan, the Mongol leader who took over half the world and it talks about how from the beginning Khan used tactics and fighting styles from others, with every culture they destroyed they stole the best technologies and intellects within them. They would use them to advise and advance their own armies, this makes so much sense, why wouldn’t you?? people assume that because they beat someone, then there’s nothing to learn from them?  usually, we can all learn something from everyone.

I have never been one who has been able to focus on things long enough to be able to practice them over and over so I like learning and forgetting and relearning. I would say reading this book and reflecting on myself I should never feel or assume I know anything, it has allowed me to look at things I have been doing for a while with excitement. Try it, try looking at a subject that you have been doing for a while and approach it like you know nothing about it.

Try it, try looking at a subject that you have been doing for a while and approach it like you know nothing about it.

Ryan Holiday – The ego is the enemy:

“The great manager and business thinker Peter Drucker says that it’s not enough simply to want to learn. As people progress, they must also understand how they learn and then set up processes to facilitate this continual education. Otherwise, we are dooming ourselves to a sort of self-imposed ignorance.”

BUA Work:

This week I have just been taking more photos etc but I am getting requests for more rashguards so I must be doing something right!

I thought it would be a good Idea to show you guys my income and expenses for the year so far, as we are entering May I think its a good point to look at things and see just what it has cost me etc… – It’s also good to see what you might need to buy if you wanted to set up your own brand – Not much to be honest.

BUA BJJ

So yeah, here is a P&L summary, if you have any questions fire ahead. Patience and consistency are something you really need above any sort of finance, oh and just doing things, just start doing whatever it is you want to do, you will figure it out. Dont be afraid to look dumb, you are dumb, you are new, your not suppose to know everything. Chill 🙂

Jiu Jitsu story:

My jiu-jitsu story is laid out above this week: Basically, you know nothing. Have a beginners mind, you are always the student. Keep learning and enjoying the journey.

I had a great competition class this morning and at the end, there were some words said:

“Thank you all for coming, this is what jiu Jitsu is about, it’s not about who you submit, who you swept with a deep half guard sweep or any of that shit, none of that will be remembered in 10 years, it’s about the people you share the mats with, the friendships you make and the experiences you share. Jiu Jitsu is for everyone.”

That’s all from me folks have a good Sunday!

 

Oss:)

 

M

Leave a Reply

